National Institute of Science Education and Research (NISER), under the aegis of the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), has been established with the aim of embedding scientific rigor within larger pedagogic practices in our country. The Institute is affiliated with Homi Bhabha National Institute (HBNI), Mumbai, a deemed research university that oversees academic programs at Institutions that are part of the DAE structure. NISER campus is situated in 300 acres of land, generously donated by the people of Odisha, in Jatni town, 25 Kms from the centre of the city of Bhubaneswar. The new campus of IIT Bhubaneswar and AIIMS is in the general neighborhood. While we began with the 5 year Integrated M.Sc. programme in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics, Doctoral guidance has gained substantial traction in the recent past and some of our first scholars have graduated.

About Workshop

Workshop on Number Theory will be an advanced school cum conference on current topics in Number Theory. It will be a seven-day event during November 30-December 6, 2018. The first four days will be workshop followed by a three-day conference. We aim to bring experts working in the areas of Transcendental number theory, Automorphic forms, Elliptic functions and special values of L-functions to give pedagogical lectures for providing basic understanding of research topics being covered and highlight their current status. The workshop is primarily intended for advanced graduate students and junior researchers. The anticipated number of outstation participants is around 50 depending on the availability of accommodation. Intersted students and young postdocs are encouraged to write to the organisers.

School of Mathematical Sciences, NISER, Bhubaneswar
Workshop Speakers

C. S. Rajan (TIFR, Mumbai )
M. Waldschmidt (IMJ, Paris )
T. N. Shorey (NIAS, Bengaluru )

Conference Speakers

B. Ramakrishnan (HRI, Allahabad )
Rupam Barman (IIT, Guwahati )
Soumya Das (IISc, Bengaluru )
Pallab Kanti Dey (ISI, New Delhi )
G. K. Viswanathan (IISER, Berhampur )
Abhash Kumar Jha (IISc, Bengaluru )
K. Srilakshmi (IISER, Trivandrum )
Arvind Kumar (TIFR, Mumbai )
Balesh Kumar (IMSc, Chennai )
Moni Kumari (TIFR, Mumbai )
Shanta Laishram (ISI, New Delhi )
M. Manickam (KSOM, Kozhikode )
Nabin Kumar Meher (NISER, Bhubaneswar )
Saranya Nair (ISI, Bengaluru )
P. Akhilesh (CMI, Chennai )
Prem Prakash Pandey (IISER, Berhampur )
Sudhanshu S. Rout (IMA, Bhubaneswar )
R. Thangadurai (HRI, Allahabad )
Sourabh Singh (ISI, Kolkata )
Ratnadeep Acharya (HRI, Allahabad) )

List of Participants

Pramath A (IISC, Bengaluru )
Rishabh Agnihotri (HRI, Allahabad )
Nilanajan Bag (IIT, Guwahati )
Arpit Bansal (JNU, New Delhi)
Jaitra Chattopadhyay (HRI, Allahabad )
Mithun Das (HRI, Allahabad )
Shamik Das (IIT, Guwahati )
Sandeep E. M. (KSOM, Kozhikode )
K. Hariram (IISC, Bengaluru )
Abhisek Juyal (MNNIT, Allahabad )
Debashish Karmkar (HRI, Allahabad )
Veekesh Kumar (HRI, Allahabad )
Sumit Kumar (ISI, Kolkata)
Sreejith M. M. (KSOM, Kozhikode )
Priyaranjan Mallick (IISER, Berhampur )
Jay Mehta (SPU, Gujrat)
M. Subramani (HRI, Allahabad)
Mohit Mishra (HRI, Allahabad )
Ritwik Pal (IISc, Bengaluru)
Manish Pandey ( HRI, Allahabad )
Mahesh Ram (IISER, Berhampur )
Bidisha Roy (HRI, Allahabad )
Subha Sarkar (HRI, Allahabad )
Gorekh Prasad Sena (NISER, Bhubaneswar )
Anup Singh (HRI, Allahabad )
Sujeet Kumar Singh (NISER, Bhubaneswar )
Rajneesh Kumar Singh (RKMVU, Belur)
Prashant Tiwari (IISER, Bhopal )
Lalit Vaishya (HRI, Allahabad )



Funded by NISER


Brundaban Sahu
K. Senthil Kumar
Jaban Meher

About Bhubaneswar

Weather in Bhubaneswar
Places near by Bhubaneswar

Contact Us

School of Mathematical Sciences,
National Institute of Science Education and Research Bhubaneswar, Via- Jatni, Dist- Khurda, Odisha-752050, India