INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON EMERGING MATERIALS

MRSI-ICEM
2025

17 - 20 Dec 2025

Website: https://www.niser.ac.in/events/mrsi2025

36THAGM OF MRSI & 7TH INDIAN MATERIALS CONCLAVE

Prof. Hirendra Nath Ghosh, Director, NISER Bhubaneswar | Chief Patron

Prof. Karuna Kar Nanda, Director, IOP Bhubaneswar | Patron

Prof. Shreepad Karmalkar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar | Patron

Prof. Ashok K Ganguli, Director, IISER Berhampur | Patron

Prof. Manoj Ranjan Nayak, President, SoA University, Bhubaneswar | Patron

ADVISORY COMMITTEE

- Prof. Ajit Kumar Mohanty | Chairman, AEC & Secretary DAE
- Prof. A K Tyaqi | Dean, HBNI
- Prof. Amar Kumar Mohanty | Director, BDDC, University of Guelph, Canada
- Prof. Amlan J Pal | Director, UGC-DAE CSR, Indore
- Prof. Ashutosh Sharma | President, Indian National Science Academy (INSA)
- Prof. Bedangadas Mohanty | NISER Bhubaneswar
- Prof. Bernd Bodermann | Physikalisch Technische Bundesanstalt, Germany
- · Prof. Dan Shechtman | Nobel Laureate, Iowa State University, USA
- Prof. K K Pant | Director, IIT Roorkee
- Dr. (Mrs.) N Kalaiselvi | DG, CSIR
- Prof. Rahul Banerjee | IISER Kolkata
- Prof. S B Krupanidhi | IISc Bangalore
- · Prof. S D Mahanti | Michigan State University
- Prof. Sanjay Mathur | Secretary, IUMRS, University of Cologne, Germany
- Prof. Supreme R Das | Director, NSF-BIGC, Kansas State University, Manhattan, USA
- Prof. T Pradeep | IIT Madras
- Prof. Umesh Waghmare | President, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore
- Shri Vivek Bhasin | Director, BARC, DAE

Indian Participants:

- Faculty/Scientists: ₹12,000 Including GST

- Industry Participants: ₹20,000 Including GST
 Industry Participants: \$500

Abroad Participants:

- Faculty/Scientists: \$300
- Students (UG/PG/Ph.D./PDF): ₹6,000 Including GST Students (UG/PG/Ph.D./PDF): \$150

Note:

- MRSI members receive a ₹1,000 discount on the registration fee.
- Fee covers sessions, refreshments, meals, reception & abstract book.

Abstract Submission Opens: 20 June 2025

- Pre-conference workshop fee is ₹1,000 (Including GST).
- Industry participants need to arrange their own accommodations.

LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

- Convener: Dr. Pratap K. Sahoo | NISER Bhubaneswar
 Co-Convener: Dr. Bishnu P. Biswal | NISER Bhubaneswar (Joint-Secretary, MRSI, Bhubaneswar Chapter)
- · Chairman: Prof. Kulamani Parida | SOA University, Bhubaneswar
- (Chairman, MRSI Bhubaneswar Chapter)

 Co-Chairman: Prof. Tapobrata Som | IOP Bhubaneswar
- Prof. A Srinivasan | NISER Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Ajay Perumal | IISER Berhampur
 Dr. Ajaya K Nayak | NISER Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Amritendu Roy | IIT Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Ashish K. Nandy | NISER Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Avijit Kumar | IIT Bhubaneswar

- Dr. Biplab Kumar Patra | IMMT Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Chandra Shekhar Purohit | NISER Bhubaneswar

- Dr. Debakanta Samal | IOP Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Dinesh Topwal | IOP Bhubaneswar
 Prof. Gopal K. Pradhan | KIIT University, Bhubaneswar
 Prof. Jogendra Nath Behera | NISER Bhubaneswar

- Prof. Jogendra Nath Behera | NISER Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Kartikeswar Senapati | NISER Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Mamata Mahapatra | IMMT Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Nagendra K Sharma | NISER Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Nimai Mishra | ICT-IOC Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Prasanjit Samal | NISER Bhubaneswar
 Prof. Rashmi Acharya | SOA University, Bhubaneswar
 Prof. Rojalin Sahu | KIIT University, Bhubaneswar
 Prof. Sanjib Kar | Treasurer, MRSI, Bhubaneswar Chapter
 Prof. Sarat Kumar Swain | VSSUT Sambalpur
 Dr. Saroj Kumar Singh | IMMT Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Satyaprakash Sahoo | IOP Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Satyaprasad P Senanayak | NISER Bhubaneswar
 Dr. Shashi Bhushan Singh | IISER Berhampur
 Prof. Shyamal Chatterjee | IIT Bhubaneswar
 Prof. Subhankar Bedanta | NISER Bhubaneswar
 Dr. T. Pavan Kumar | Secretary, MRSI, Bhubaneswar Cha

- Dr. T. Pavan Kumar | Secretary, MRSI, Bhubaneswar Chapter
 Dr. Tapan Mishra | NISER Bhubaneswar
- Prof. Udai P Singh KIIT University, Bhubaneswar
- Prof. Umaprasanna Ojha | IIT Bhubaneswar

CONFERENCE SYMPOSIA

A. Electronic and Photonic Materials

- A-1: Wide Bandgap Semiconductors
- A-2: Device and materials design
- A-3: Semiconductor for Photonics/photovoltaics
- A-4: Functional materials for optoelectronics A-5: Optical resonators/devices

- B-1: Topological material and devices
- B-2: Magnetic & Superconducting materials and devices
- B-3: 2-D materials and devices
- B-4: Spintronics
- B-5: Skyrmions
- C. Energy and Sustainable Materials

C-1: Self-power devices

- C-2: Porous Materials(MOFs, COFs, Cages and Zeolites)
- C-3: Perovskite Materials
- C-4: Nuclear Materials
- C-5: Piezo, Tribo, Pyro, Thermoelectric materials

D-1: Bio-derived materials

- C-6: Sustainable Materials for Energy Conversion & Storage D. Applied Soft and Biomaterial
- D-2: Materials for Bio/Medical Applications
- D-3: Soft Materials Technology
 D-4: Flexible and Wearable Materials

• E-1: Advanced Spectroscopic Techniques

E. Advanced Methods in Materials

- E-2: Advanced Microscopic techniques E-3: Advanced Scattering and diffraction
- techniques • E-4: Advanced material characterization techniques
- E-5: Advanced device fabrication techniques F. Alloys and Composites
- F-1: Metallurgical alloys
- F-2: Soft alloys
- F-3: Refractory composites F-4: High entropy alloys
- F-5: Polymer composites

G. Critical and Strategic Materials G-1: Ion/electron/photon interactions with materials

- G-2: Materials for space and radiation hazards
- G-3: Materials and techniques for national security
- G-4: Materials from waste and strategic minerals H. Materials Modelling and Simulation
- H-1: DFT for new materials
- H-2: First principle calculation
- H-3: Search for emerging materials
 H-4: Materials modeling methods beyond DFT



ABOUT THE EVENT

The International Conference on Emerging Materials (ICEM-2025), along with the 36th AGM of MRSI & 7th Indian Materials Conclave, will be organized by the NISER, Bhubaneswar, in association with IOP Bhubaneswar, IIT Bhubaneswar, IISER Berhampur, SOA University, and KIIT University from 17th to 20th December 2025.

A special Pre-Conference workshop (for limited participants) on the topic 'Advanced Materials Characterizations' will be held at IISER Berhampur on 16th December 2025.

This conference aims to gather the leading researchers, eminent speakers, students, & industry experts, making it an ideal platform for sharing & exchanging scientific knowledge and innovative ideas.



The National Institute of Science Education and Research (NISER), Bhubaneswar, under HBNI and aided by the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), is a premier institute dedicated to education and research in basic sciences. Established in 2007 and functioning from its 300-acre Jatni campus since 2015, NISER offers integrated M.Sc., M.Sc.-Ph.D., and Ph.D. programs with a strong focus on nurturing scientific talent.

It houses seven schools of sciences, a Centre for Interdisciplinary Sciences, and a Center of Medical and Radiation Physics, promoting front-end basic science research and innovation. NISER also engages in science outreach and policymaking to inspire young minds and support national science initiatives.











